Skip to Main

November 11, 2021

Pressley, Speier, Colleagues to Introduce Resolution Calling for Censure of Rep. Gosar

WASHINGTONCongresswoman Ayanna Pressley (MA-07), Rep. Jackie Speier (CA-14), co-chair of the Democratic Women’s Caucus (DWC), and Representatives Jim Cooper (TN-5); Brenda Lawrence (MI-14), co-chair of the DWC; Sylva Garcia (TX-29), vice chair of the DWC; Veronica Escobar (TX-16), vice chair of the DWC; Debbie Wasserman Schultz (Fl-23); Rashida Tlaib (MI-13); Eric Swalwell (CA-15); and Nikema Williams (GA-5); announce resolution censuring Congressman Paul Gosar (AZ-4) for posting an edited video on social media depicting himself murdering Congresswoman Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez and attacking President Joe Biden.

“For a Member of Congress to post a manipulated video on his social media accounts depicting himself killing Representative Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez and attacking President Biden is a clear cut case for censure. For that Member to post such a video on his official Instagram account and use his official congressional resources in the House of Representatives to further violence against elected officials goes beyond the pale, ” the Members said.  “As the events of January 6th have shown, such vicious and vulgar messaging can and does foment actual violence. Violence against women in politics is a global phenomenon meant to silence women and discourage them from seeking positions of authority and participating in public life, with women of color disproportionately impacted. Minority Leader McCarthy’s silence is tacit approval and just as dangerous.”

The video has been viewed millions of times and has received strong condemnation by Members of Congress, the press, and the public. In a statement issued on Tuesday, Rep. Gosar defended the video, calling it a “symbolic cartoon” and spreading hateful and false rhetoric about immigrants.

The Members plan to introduce the House Resolution on Friday during the next pro forma when the House is in session.

Cosponsors of the resolution are: Representatives Marcy Kaptur, John Yarmuth, Eleanor Holmes Norton, Debbie Dingell, Steve Cohen, Jared Huffman, Dwight Evans, Barbara Lee, Zoe Lofgren, Jake Auchincloss, Katherine Clark, Earl Blumenauer, Ilhan Omar, Nydia M. Velázquez, Jerrold Nadler, Joaquin Castro, Ritchie Torres, André Carson, and Raúl Grijalva.