Skip to Main

June 5, 2019

Rep. Pressley and Freshmen Democrats Call on Sen. McConnell to Do His Job

H.R. 1, The For the People Act, is the most comprehensive money in politics and government reform package since Watergate


WASHINGTON –– Today, Congresswoman Ayanna Pressley (MA-07) and Freshmen Democrats sent a letter to Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell urging him to do his job and bring For the People Act (H.R. 1/S. 949) to the Senate floor for debate and for a vote. The letter was signed by almost every Democratic member of the U.S. House of Representative’s freshman class. The For the People Act is transformative legislation that puts the power of democracy back in the hands of the American people. The bill was voted out of the House and sent to the Senate in March.

“Restoring faith in our elections and in the integrity of our elected officials should be a top priority that members of Congress from both parties can agree on,” said the lawmakers. “Americans are looking for leaders who will stand up to corruption and fight the power of special interests in Washington. They deserve a stronger democracy that is focused on their priorities and the For The People Act would give them that.” 

When H.R.1 was up for debate on the House Floor, Congresswoman Pressley introduced an amendment that would lower the federal election voting age from 18-years-old to 16-years-old. In Massachusetts, 16- and 17-year-olds can pre-register to vote, but Congresswoman Pressley’s amendment would expand these efforts so that people as young as 16-years-old can elect members of Congress and the President of the United States. The amendment would set a national policy that requires states to allow 16 and 17-year-olds to register and vote in federal elections. 

You can read the full text of the letter here.


Below is the list of Democratic Freshman members of the U.S. House who have signed the letter:

Rep. Ayanna Pressley (MA-07)

Rep. Max Rose (NY-11)

Rep. Katie Porter (CA-45)

Rep. Jason Crow (CO-06)

Rep. Sharice Davids (KS-03)

Rep. Elissa Slotkin (MI-08)

Rep. Dean Phillips (MN-03)

Rep. Chris Pappas (NH-01)

Rep. Andy Kim (NJ-03)

Rep. Tom Malinowski (NJ-07)

Rep. Antonio Delgado (NY-19)

Rep. Colin Allred (TX-32)

Rep. Abigail Spanberger (VA-07)

Rep. Ann Kirkpatrick (AZ-02)

Rep. Greg Stanton (AZ-09)

Rep. Josh Harder (CA-10)

Rep. TJ Cox (CA-21)

Rep. Jimmy Gomez (CA-34)

Rep. Katie Hill (CA-25)

Rep. Gil Cisneros (CA-39)

Rep. Harley Rouda (CA-48)

Rep. Mike Levin (CA-49)

Rep. Joe Neguse (CO-02)

Rep. Jahana Hayes (CT-05)

Rep. Debbie Mucarsel-Powell (FL-26)

Rep. Donna Shalala (FL-27)

Rep. Lucy McBath (GA-06)

Rep. Ed Case (HI-01)

Rep. Abby Finkenauer (IA-01)

Rep. Cindy Axne (IA-03)

Rep. Jesus Chuy García (IL-04)

Rep. Sean Casten (IL-06)

Rep. Lauren Underwood (IL-14)

Rep. Lori Trahan (MA-03)

Rep. David Trone (MD-06)

Rep. Andy Levin (MI-09)

Rep. Haley M. Stevens (MI-11)

Rep. Rashida Tlaib (MI-13)

Rep. Angie Craig (MN-02)

Rep. Ilhan Omar (MN-05)

Rep. Jeff Van Drew (NJ-02)

Rep. Mikie Sherrill (NJ-11)

Rep. Deb Haaland (NM-01)

Rep. Xochitl Torres Small (NM-02)

Rep. Susie Lee (NV-03)

Rep. Steven Horsford (NV-04)

Rep. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (NY-14)

Rep. Anthony Brindisi (NY-22)

Rep. Joseph Morelle (NY-25)

Rep. Kendra Horn (OK-05)

Rep. Madeleine Dean (PA-04)

Rep. Mary Gay Scanlon (PA-05)

Rep. Chrissy Houlahan (PA-06)

Rep. Susan Wild (PA-07)

Rep. Conor Lamb (PA-17)

Rep. Joe Cunningham (SC-01)

Rep. Lizzie Pannill Fletcher (TX-07)

Rep. Veronica Escobar (TX-16)

Rep. Sylvia Garcia (TX-29)

Rep. Ben McAdams (UT-04)

Rep. Jennifer Wexton (VA-10)

Rep. Kim Schrier (WA-08)