Skip to Main

March 12, 2024

Pressley, Haiti Caucus Co-Chairs’ Statement on Resignation of Haitian PM Ariel Henry

WASHINGTON – Today, Congresswomen Ayanna Pressley (MA-07), Yvette Clarke, and Sheila Cherfilus-McCormick, Co-Chairs of the Haiti Caucus, issued the following statement on the resignation of Haitian Prime Minister Ariel Henry.

“The decision by Prime Minister Ariel Henry to step down is a much-needed and long-overdue step toward the just future that the Haitian people deserve,” said the lawmakers. “The status quo of economic turmoil, political instability, and worsening violence on the island has inflicted trauma and hardship on the Haitian people for far too long. The United States and the international community must move with urgency to save lives, support a Haitian-led democratic transition, and provide the security, humanitarian, and economic assistance that the island needs. As Co-Chairs of the House Haiti Caucus, we pray for the people of Haiti, including the Haitian diaspora, and will continue to press for critical action.”