Skip to Main

October 27, 2023

Pressley, Lee, Colleagues Introduce Resolution to Honor Victims of Tree of Life Synagogue Shooting, Condemn Antisemitism

Resolution Text (PDF)

BOSTON — Today, Congresswoman Ayanna Pressley (MA-07) joined Congresswoman Summer Lee (PA-12), Congressman Chris Deluzio (PA-17) and their House colleagues in introducing a resolution recognizing the fifth commemoration of the Pittsburgh synagogue shooting, honoring the eleven precious lives lost, and condemning antisemitism in all of its forms. 

“Five years ago, eleven precious lives were stolen from us in an egregious antisemitic shooting at the Tree of Life Synagogue in Pittsburgh. My heart goes out to the victims’ families and loved ones, especially at a time when our Jewish siblings are once again grieving and experiencing heightened trauma,” said Rep. Pressley. “Congressional intent is powerful, and this resolution remembers the lives lost and is a recommitment to our fight against antisemitism and hate of all kinds.”

“Today, solemnly marks five years since the Pittsburgh synagogue shooting — a heinous, antisemitic attack that claimed the lives of eleven members of our community. In this time of tremendous pain and heightened trauma, it’s crucial that we reaffirm our commitment to one another and to the values of compassion, tolerance, and unity that define us at our best,” said Rep. Lee. “On the morning of October 27th, 2018, during Shabbat service, three Jewish congregations faced an unimaginable horror that not only shattered the sanctity of their place of worship but also sent shockwaves of sorrow through hearts across the nation and across the world. The eleven members from the Dor Hadash, New Light, and Tree of Life congregations who were killed that day were not just statistics, they were beloved members of our community: Bernice & Sylvan Simon, Cecil & David Rosenthal, Joyce Fienberg, Richard Gottfried, Rose Mallinger, Jerry Rabinowitz, Daniel Stein, Melvin Wax, Irving Younger. They were fathers, mothers, brothers, sisters, friends, and colleagues. They were members of a vibrant community, who sought solace, peace, and unity within the walls of their synagogue. They inspire me to work even harder to confront the root causes of antisemitism, hatred, racism, and bigotry so that no community has to live in fear of such senseless violence ever again. When I visited the synagogue this past February, I met with congregation leadership and several family members of those murdered. I was profoundly moved – both by the unimaginable pain of what I saw and the beautiful conversations I had. When Reverend Manning spoke at the funeral of Rose Mallinger, the last of the 11 victims to be laid to rest, he said: ‘You are not alone… We mourn with you. We’re here for you and that will never change.’ I commit myself to building bridges between marginalized communities and fighting for a world without hate. I want our Jewish siblings to know that we are in this fight together – every day, for as long as it takes. By building bridges between marginalized communities, together we will dismantle the systems of hatred and work to ensure that Pittsburgh is stronger than hate and safe for every member of every community.” 

“This resolution marks a dark and terrible day in the history of Western Pennsylvania and the history of our country,” said Rep. Deluzio. “As we remember those lost in this horrific act of violence, hearts are especially heavy in Western Pennsylvania as our community also processes the horrors of Hamas’s deadly terrorist attack in Israel. We must all recommit to the fight against the scourges of antisemitism and hate.”

The resolution is cosponsored by: Alma Adams,  Mary Gay Scanlon, Jan Schakowsky, Adam Schiff,  Jamaal Bowman, Brendan Boyle, Shontel Brown, Cori Bush, Andre Carson, Matt Cartwright, Greg Casar, Sheila Cherfilus-McCormick, Judy Chu, Yvette Clarke, Emanuel Cleaver, Steve Cohen, J. Luis Correa, Jasmine Crockett, Jason Crow, Danny Davis, Madeleine Dean, Suzan DelBene, Chris Deluzio, Adriano Espaillat, Dwight Evans, Lizzie Fletcher, Maxwell Frost, Jesús G. “Chuy” García, Robert Garcia, Sylvia Garcia, Al Green, Eleanor Holmes Norton, Chrissy Houlahan, Jonathan Jackson, Sara Jacobs, Pramila Jayapal, Hank Johnson, Sydney Kamlager-Dove, Dan Kildee, Andy Kim, Raja Krishnamoorthi, Ann Kuster, Barbara Lee, Susie Lee, Ted Lieu, Seth Magaziner, Jennifer McCClellan, Kweisi Mfume, Gwen Moore, Kevin Mullin, Grace Napolitano, Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez, Ilhan Omar, Donald Payne Jr., Scott Peters, Stacey Plaskett, Katie Porter, Ayanna Pressley, Delia Ramirez, Bobby Scott, Terri Sewell, Melanie Stansbury, Eric Swalwell, Mark Takano, Mike Thompson, Dina Titus, Rashida Tlaib, Nydia Velázquez, Bonnie Watson Coleman, Susan Wild, and Frederica Wilson.

A copy of the resolution can be found here.