Skip to Main

January 5, 2021

Pressley Joins Johnson, Colleagues on Resolution to Censure Trump For Call to Georgia Secretary of State

Resolution Text (PDF)

WASHINGTON – Congresswoman Ayanna Pressley (MA-07) yesterday joined Congressman Hank Johnson (GA-04) and 98 of their colleagues in introducing a House resolution censuring and condemning Donald Trump for attempting to inappropriately tamper with the results of the November 2020 presidential election in the State of Georgia.

“The damning audio of Donald Trump pressuring election officials to tamper with a decided election and ignore the democratic rights of the people of Georgia is more evidence of the criminality and corruption that have defined his administration,” said Congresswoman Pressley. “He must be held accountable for this blatant attempt to subvert our democracy, and every option to do so must be on the table, including censure, impeachment and criminal penalties. The American people deserve nothing less.”

On Saturday, January 2, 2021, President Trump called Georgia’s Secretary of State and asked him to illegally fabricate the votes needed for him to win the Georgia vote count. On Sunday, January 3, 2021, the entire audio of the call was reported in The Washington Post. The call lasted more than an hour and involved the President threatening Secretary Raffensperger with vague criminal prosecution threats if he didn’t cooperate. Reps. Pressley and Johnson moved quickly to condemn President Trump’s criminal actions and denounce his flagrant attempts to defraud a legal, fair, and free election.

The resolution garnered wide support. The Representatives were joined by Reps. Adams, Auchincloss, Barragan, Bass, Beatty, Beyer, Bishop, Blumenauer, Bonamici, Bourdeaux, Boyle, Bowman, Bush, Butterfield, Carson, Casten, Castor, Castro, Chu, Cicilline, Yvette Clarke, Cohen, Connolly, Cooper, Correa, Courtney, Danny Davis, Dean, DeLauro, Dingell, Doggett, Espaillat, Escobar, Eshoo, Dwight Evans, Foster, Chuy Garcia, Sylvia Garcia, Jimmy Gomez, Al Green, Hayes, Brian Higgins, Himes, Huffman, Jackson Lee, Jayapal, Mondaire Jones, Khanna, Kildee, John Larson, Brenda Lawrence, Barbara Lee, Andy Levin, Mike Levin, Lieu, Lowenthal, Lynch, Matsui, McCollum, McEachin, McGovern, McNerney, Meeks, Meng, Newman, Norton, Ocasio-Cortez, Omar, Pallone, Panetta, Pingree, Pocan, Raskin, Rush, Scanlon, Schakowsky, David Scott, Sewell, Sherman, Speier, Suozzi, Swalwell, Takano, Mike Thompson, Tlaib, Rice, Norma Torres, Ritchie Torres, Velázquez, Watson Coleman, Welch.

Text of the resolution HERE.

The resolution also calls on President Trump to retract and disavow this unlawful and unconstitutional behavior and acknowledge President-elect Joseph R. Biden as the victor of the November 2020 presidential election.

# # #