February 28, 2025

Mr. Hampton Dellinger U.S. Office of Special Counsel 1730 M St. NW Washington, D.C. 200036

Dear Special Counsel Dellinger:

We write to applaud the Office of Special Counsel for its recent decision to recommend halting the termination of probationary federal workers. This recommendation has profound implications for the livelihoods of nearly 200,000 federal government employees and the essential services they provide to the American public. In response to the ongoing assault on our federal government, we strongly encourage the Office of Special Counsel to ensure all unfairly fired civil servants are immediately rehired and protected from greater abuse.

The Office of Special Counsel (OSC) was created by Congress in 1979 as an independent and nonpartisan agency responsible for protecting federal employees from prohibited personnel practices that violate the merit system. These violations include employment discrimination, whistleblower retaliation, coercing political activity, and failure to adhere to laws, rules, or regulations. While this mission is often accomplished in partnership with inspectors general (IGs), President Trump unlawfully fired IGs in seventeen agencies across the executive branch during his first week in office. The brazen attack on the federal government's oversight infrastructure is alarming and emphasizes the importance of OSC.

Since Trump's inauguration, nonpartisan civil servants have been intimidated, threatened, traumatized, and fired for no legitimate reason. An estimated 10,000 employees have already been terminated with no regard to their performance or conduct, including at the Department of Veteran Affairs, the National Institutes of Health, the Small Business Administration, the Department of Agriculture, and the Department of Energy. There has never been a more cruel and baseless attack on our civil service in the history of our nation.

We urge you to continue fulfilling OSC's mission and ensure federal workers are protected from abuse. While your recent recommendation specifically applies to named complainants, it must be broadened and finalized to cover every impacted government worker. Additionally, the agency officials who carried out the illegal scheme must face serious disciplinary action. Congress has empowered OSC and the Merit Systems Protection Board with the investigatory, prosecutorial, and enforcement authority necessary to counter the unlawful abuses of power, and we stand ready to assist in that effort.

Sincerely,

Granne S. Pussely

Ayanna Pressley Member of Congress

Member of Congress

<u>Manetto Diaz Barragán</u> Nanette Diaz Barragán

Member of Congress

namia

Suzanne Bonamici Member of Congress

mone

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

450

Greg Casar Member of Congress

Sheila Cherfilus-McCormick Member of Congress

<u>Upette W. Clarke</u> Vyette D. Clarke

Member of Congress

amin rsani amin Ansari

mber of Congress

Member of Congress

Inn

Shontel M. Brown Member of Congress

Froy A. Carter, Sr. Member of Congress

Ed Case Member of Congress

Gilbert Ray Cisneros, Jr.

Member of Congress

Steve Cohen Member of Congress

Gerald E. Connolly

Member of Congress

Jasmine Member of Congress

Mad

Madeleine Dean Member of Congress

Mark DeSaulnier Member of Congress

Adriano Espaillat Member of Congress

Shomari Figures

Member of Congress

Lois Frankel Member of Congress

Joe Courtney Member of Congress

Danny K. Davis Member of Congress

Paus Delate

Diana DeGette Member of Congress

Veronica Escobar Member of Congress

- hre

Dwight Evans Member of Congress

Lizzie Fletcher Member of Congress

Dan Goldman Member of Congress

aggie Goollonder Maggie Goodlander

Maggle Goodlander Member of Congress

Steven Horsford *U* Member of Congress

enn Ivey

Member of Congress

Pramila Jayapal Member of Congress

William R. Keating Member of Congress

Timother M. Kennedy

Member of Congress

Raja Krishnamoorthi Member of Congress

and M.H

Raúl M. Grijalva Member of Congress

Val Hoyle Member of Congress

athan L. Jacl

Jonathan L. Jackson Jember of Congress

Henry C. "Hank Johnson, Jr. Member of Congress

Man

Robin L. Kelly Member of Congress

Ro Khanna Member of Congress

her.

Summer L. Lee Member of Congress

Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

Teresa Leger Fernández Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress

R. Meclice

Jennifer L. McClellan Member of Congress

LaMonica McIver Member of Congress

Kweisi Mfume Member of Congress

Gwen S. Moore Member of Congress

Eleano H. Motor

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

ed W. Iren

Ted W. Lieu Member of Congress

Sarah McBride Member of Congress

James P. Une

James P. McGovern Member of Congress

Whet ory

Gregory W. Meeks Member of Congress

Dave Min

Member of Congress

Lewold Hadle

Jerrold Nadler Member of Congress

Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez Member of Congress

Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

oszewski, Jr. Member of Congress

Stacey E. Plaskett Member of Congress

Delia C. Ramirez Member of Congress

Km

Deborah K. Ross Member of Congress

LaScar

Mary Gay Scanlon Member of Congress

David Scott Member of Congress

Smith ám

Member of Congress

Ilhan Omar Member of Congress

Pocar

Member of Congress

Jamie Raskin Member of Congress

Solmer

Andrea Salinas Member of Congress

Jan Schakowsky Member of Congress

imon Member of Congress

1. Stansbu

Melanie Stansbury Member of Congress

Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

Suhas Subramanyani

Member of Congress

Bennie G. Thompson Member of Congress

askeda Hail

Rashida Tlaib Member of Congress

Pauls.tonly

Paul D. Tonko Member of Congress

when Len

Sylvester Turner Member of Congress

Nydia M. Velázquez Member of Congress

ema Williams

Member of Congress

Shri Thanedar Member of Congress

71

Dina Titus Member of Congress

N Tokule

Jin Tokuda Member of Congress

Lori Trahan Member of Congress

Juan Vargas Member of Congress

Bornie Water Vema

Bonnie Watson Coleman Member of Congress

Wilson Trederica

Frederica S. Wilson Member of Congress